Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers How to find the count of IP addresses that belong to different subnets and display the count? Post 303039311 by new2prog on Monday 30th of September 2019 02:55:30 PM
Old 09-30-2019
How to find the count of IP addresses that belong to different subnets and display the count?

Hi,

I have a file with a list of bunch of IP addresses from different VLAN's . I am trying to find the list the number of each vlan occurence in the output
Here is how my file looks like
Code:

So what I am trying to get out of this is to using grep and count mechanism to spit something like this
Code:
1.1.1.x  occrences 3
1.1.2.x  occrences 2
1.1.3.x  occrences 4

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Use code tags to wrap code fragments or data samples.

Last edited by Yoda; 09-30-2019 at 05:15 PM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Display the count of files

I am new to shell programming. Can anyone help me out with anyone of these? Display a count of the number of regular files, the number of symbolic links, the number of sub-directories, the number of block-special files, and the number of character-special files in the directory. I don't... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: wayne1411
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

IPv4 addresses: count/output and Awk/Sed

Hi forum. I am fairly new to scripting and use a simple script to process e-mails for my work. These e-mails contain a list of IPv4 IPs that I process and seperate into text files, which are then attached to a larger, 'digest' e-mail. I also put some of the output from the text files into the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: laebshade
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to display and count