Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users awk trouble inside another command Post 303037518 by RudiC on Sunday 4th of August 2019 02:36:19 AM
Old 08-04-2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokedude
...I like to do this and add the field separator.
Would
Code:
 ... | awk -F\: '{print $2}')"

work? Mayhap with a double \\.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

Trouble formatting egrep command with AWK

Hi, I'm new to scripting and AIX. I'm running the following: lspv | awk '{ print "lspv",$1" | egrep 'PP\|PHYSICAL'; lspv -l",$1 }' Which creates this command: lspv hdisk0 | egrep PP|PHYSICAL; lspv -l hdisk0 lspv hdisk1 | egrep PP|PHYSICAL; lspv -l hdisk1 Troube is, I need the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cruiser
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running command inside awk

Hi, I have a awk script to read a CSV file. After reading the values i want to call a executable (nameely call_it) with the values what i read from the scv file. I dont want to use system command inside the awk. Is there any other way to run the executable from the awk script Thanks ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Raghuram.P
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use same variable value inside as well as outside of the awk command?

Hi Jim, The following script is in working state. But i m having one more problem with awk cmd. Could you tell me how to use any variable inside awk or how to take any variable value outside awk. My problem is i want to maintain one property file in which i am declaring variable value into that... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ganesh Khandare
12 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Trouble with passing Variable from bash to awk gsub command