Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Sorting the contents of a variable Post 303034992 by jgt on Friday 10th of May 2019 12:39:29 PM
Old 05-10-2019
After a little thought:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/bash                                   
n=$#                                              
i=1                                               
C=""                                              
while [ $i -le $n ]                               
do                                                
        c=$(echo $1 |tr "[:upper:]" "[:lower:]" ) 
        C="$c\n$C"                                
        shift                                     
        let i=$i+1                                
done                                              
echo $C |sort -u

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding contents of a variable to a command

hi all, i'm new to shell scripting, so i'm not sure how to work this. Is it possible to read in the contents of a variable and add it to a command? for example: ------------------------ #!/bin/sh set example = -dfr rm ${example} ------------------------ when i run the script, i want... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gammarays
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Save contents of a Variable

I want to save the contents of a variable to a file. How can that be achieved? I have tried with: echo $varname > textfile.txt but for some reason it does not print anything. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: carl_vieyra
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

unique sort contents of a variable

Hi , I have #echo $var1 #hdisk2 hdisk3 hdisk0 hdisk2 Now I need to remove duplicate entries from this . ie. after sorting it should only have hdisk2 hdisk3 hdisk0 . I can have these values in a array as well . I understand we can use sort -u to remove the duplicates in a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: praveenbvarrier
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting