Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Simple conditional yields too many responses Post 303030471 by vbe on Monday 11th of February 2019 10:17:55 AM
Old 02-11-2019
If you find a match to your IF condition, you should exit otherwise you continue in the loop which explains why you have those lines, I let you figure out what to do the the other case, because you could have the case of nothing found and again you would have so many lines...
Hint: Use a variable you set and use it at the end once out of the loop...

Last edited by vbe; 02-11-2019 at 11:23 AM..
This User Gave Thanks to vbe For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ping to machine and count responses

if i wanted to ping all the machines in a given directory (/etc/hosts) and return a total count of responses how would i go about scripting that? complete newbie...so be gentle if ; then //$1 = /etc/hosts cd "$1" //this puts me into the directory i need...but how do i send ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: trostycp
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to automate responses

I would have searched for this but I couldn't really think of what to use for the search text... I've got a situation where I need to automate responses to an executable when running it from a script so that it can be made into a job the operators don't have to interact with. When I run it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: djp
2 Replies

3. Linux

How do I capture responses from the chat command?

Unfortunately googling the word 'chat' gives you zebedee billion responses that relate to everything and few of them refer to the linux chat command. I've read the man page and found a couple of examples but can't see how to do this. I want to query the modem for it's manufacturer, product id... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bashingaway
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using AWK to Calculate Correct Responses