Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Issue with "rsh" on RedHat
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Issue with "rsh" on RedHat Post 303028640 by bakunin on Friday 11th of January 2019 05:33:17 PM
Old 01-11-2019
Quote:
Originally Posted by gull04
The problem turned out to be the firewall had been turned back on by one of our offshore people, I had already stopped the service
In addition to what Don Cragun already said: how on earth can a user get the privileges necessary to turn on the firewall?? In a long (and rather depressing) life as a systems administrator i learned that admins should be like gods: i am your root - thou shalt have no others besides me!

In AIX there is a file /etc/nologin, which, when in place, prevents any login. (It is deleted automatically upon reboot, so it can't be forgotten.) Maybe there is something alike in RHEL, which you could incorporate to your deployment process to prevent these things? If not: how about killing getty instead? That would also prevent new logins until a final reboot, which should perhaps be the last step in a customisation process anyway.

I hope this helps.

bakunin
These 2 Users Gave Thanks to bakunin For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Failed to check status code in "rsh" command

Hi folks, I wrote a ksh program which run scripts from remote server. To check the status code I wrote the following function: check_remote_status() { status_code=`tail -1 $installLog` if ] ; then echo $errMsg | tee -a $installLog exit 1 else echo $validMsg >> $installLog fi... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: nir_s
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Explain the line "mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'`"

Hi Friends, Can any of you explain me about the below line of code? mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'` Im not able to understand, what exactly it is doing :confused: Any help would be useful for me. Lokesha (4 Replies)