Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: System V printing filter
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting System V printing filter Post 303025400 by Ken_Snauffer on Thursday 1st of November 2018 02:25:06 PM
Old 11-01-2018
System V printing filter

First, please excuse my apparent lack of attempt as this is NOT the case. I have attempted to research this for hours and realize I am way out of my league. I am not a programmer, especially in Unix.

I have an old Alpha Unix system with a program that prints to a network printer using the LPR command. Since no one has access to the source code or compiler anymore, re-writing the program seems out of the question. I believe what I am looking for is an if script that takes the standard text being sent to the printer, determines if it should actually print, and prints to the printer or prints to NULL.

In more explanation, the program prints all standard text. 3/4+ of this text is operational codes that mean nothing to anyone here and therefore really do not need printed. The rest of the text is needed and should be printed. All of this text needing printed ALWAYS starts of with the first line exactly equal to " Manual Base Iron Staging Moves " followed by several lines of important information. You may be able to use just the word Manual as the compare word. If the first word is NOT Manual, then the entire print job can be sent to NULL. If it is, then it should be directed to the printer.

AKA:
if print job starts with Manual
then print entire job to printer @icsp1/9100: as defined below
else send print job to Null

Printcap file entry is:

Code:
lp1|1|p1|P1|ctllpr|print1:\
	:af=/usr/adm/lp1acct:\
	:br#9600:\
	:ct=tcp:\
	:fc#0177777:\
	:fs#03:\
	:lf=/usr/adm/lp1err:\
	:lp=@icsp1/9100:\
	:mx#0:\
	:pl#66:\
	:pw#80:\
	:rw:\
	:sd=/usr/spool/lpd1:\
	:sf:\
	:sh:\
	:xc#0177777:\
	:xf=/usr/lbin/xf:\
	:xs#044000:\
	:of=/usr/lbin/pcfof +Cgeneric_text.pcf:\
	:if=/usr/lbin/pcfof +Cgeneric_text.pcf: