Sponsored Content
Operating Systems SCO Virtualization a bare metal SCO Open Server 6? Post 303011302 by c3rb3rus on Tuesday 16th of January 2018 10:19:02 AM
Old 01-16-2018
I was hoping to move the bare metal into a VM; that way I can do VM level backups and in case of restore it is much easier in VMware.

But I doubt we'll be able to get passed this licensing roadblock, so likely will just need to stock up on exact same hard drive off ebay.

I wonder what triggers tbasic to ask for activation - you think this is because the disk controller changed? Thinking ahead - if we stick with bare metal - and have to swap a failed disk down the road will we run into a similar issue or so as long as the hardware is the same it should not trigger tbasic to look for new activation.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sco open server 5.0.6

I'm new to the whole Unix thing and have inherited a network running Macs, Windows 2000 and Unix. The Unix side is very suspect at this point and I want to change out the server. I'd love to use one of the new Apple servers but can't find any info on what "flavors" of Unix it will run. Specificly... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: matthewd
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

SCO Open Server 5.05 Installaltuion

I'm in the process of installing SCO Open Server 5.05 on the following platform: Hardware: IBM 300PL 64 MB RAM Yamaha 16/4/16 CDRW (Internal defined on SCSI ID 3 LUN 0) I'm able to boot from the CD and advance to the Installation screen but when it asks for where the media source will... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: budrito
3 Replies

3. SCO

SCO Open Server.

Dear All, I am considering installing SCO Open Server as an alternative to MS Exchange. Has anybody had any real world experience of using Open Office? Thanks, TC. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: TCuk
1 Replies

4. SCO

Sco Open Server 5.05

How can I to know procesor type. (1 Reply)