Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sed within awk statement
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed within awk statement Post 303010920 by Don Cragun on Wednesday 10th of January 2018 06:09:12 AM
Old 01-10-2018
I'm not an SQL expert, but still believe this could all be done in SQL without needing awk or sed. And, you showed us the output you said you want with <space> as a field separator and then say that you want the output to be a CSV file with <comma> as the field separator??? Assuming that your input is in a file named file and that you do want output with <comma> as the field separator, the following awk script seems to do what I think you want:
Code:
awk -F'|' '			# Invoke awk and set input field separator to "|".
{	gsub(/^ | $/, "", $2)	# Get rid of leading and trailing space in date
				# and convert input FS (|) to output FS (space).
	gsub(/ /, "-", $2)	# Convert spaces to hyphens in date.
	gsub(/ +/, ",")		# Convert strings of adjacent spaces to commas.
	gsub(/^,|,$/, "")	# Get rid of leading and trailing commas.
	print			# Print updated lines.
}' file				# Close awk script and specify input file.

If file contains the input you showed us in post #1 in this thread, this produces the output:
Code:
Jan-8-2018-11:28PM,24,75,51,1,1.600
Jan-8-2018-12:01PM,52,823,21,6,2.675

You haven't told us what operating system or shell you're using (which you should always do in threads in this forum so we can suggest solutions that will work in your environment). If you're using a Solaris/SunOS system, change awk to /usr/xpg4/bin/awk or nawk.
This User Gave Thanks to Don Cragun For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

if and sed statement