Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Automate a task
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Automate a task Post 303009277 by Samiran Dam on Tuesday 12th of December 2017 02:26:20 AM
Old 12-12-2017
Automate a task

Dear All,

I am relatively new to UNIX and wanted to accomplish a simple task which should be automated. That's why I need your help. I shall briefly describe what I want.

Basically, there is a process (X) (related to a particular software which I am using in my system) which automatically starts after some time and eats up a lot of resources resulting in slowing up other necessary processes running. So all I want is to -
STEP-1: periodically (it is better if I can set the the interval duration) check whether process-X has started or not
STEP-2: obtain the PID of the process-X
STEP-3: execute: "kill -9 <PID of process-X>"

And these three steps, I want to write as a script and that script should automatically check the status of process-X and take necessary action as long as my system is up.

Could anybody please help me to accomplish this.

- Sam.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

process vs task

Hi, I am new to this forum and unix too. I have just started learning unix. As I was going through the first chapter, I read that unix is multitasking, multiprogramming, multiprocessing and multiuser OS. My question is: Is there any difference between a TASK and a PROCESS. How are PROCESS... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hana
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

comment and Uncomment single task out of multiple task

I have a file contains TASK gsnmpproxy { CommandLine = $SMCHOME/bin/gsnmpProxy.exe } TASK gsnmpdbgui { CommandLine = $SMCHOME/bin/gsnmpdbgui.exe I would like to comment and than uncomment specific task eg TASK gsnmpproxy Pls suggest how to do in shell script (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: madhusmita
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting