Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Building hierarchy with the list Post 303004613 by RudiC on Thursday 5th of October 2017 08:07:54 AM
Old 10-05-2017
"the last record" - even if I translate "record" to "field", "MANUAL" would NOT be the last.

"group record based on the entire row" - what does this mean? Is that bespoke subfield the key, or the entire row?

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to archive certain folders in a hierarchy

I'm new to shell scripting and I'm having a tough time figuring out how to script something. Can anyone help? Here is my setup and what I want to do: A directory contains a list of projects by year (2000, 2001, etc) and customers (01-001) all of which have the same internal directory setup... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: medazinol
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cp without maintaining the soucre directory tree hierarchy

Hi guys. I'm willing to copy a specific file system hierarchy, but I would not like to maintain the directory tree organization. For example: Let's say /a/b/c is the fs I'm wanting to copy to my destination, and that c is a directory with 30 files, 10 on /a/b/c , 10 on a/b/c/c1 and 10... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: 435 Gavea
2 Replies

3. Tips and Tutorials

Linux Filesystem Hierarchy

Hi, Please have a look this: http://tldp.org/LDP/Linux-Filesystem-Hierarchy/Linux-Filesystem-Hierarchy.pdf I think this can be very useful for a beginner/intermediate level user to understand the filesystem hierarchy and as well as it can be used as a reference to various linux commands and... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: tayyabq8
0 Replies

4. Solaris

Why are so many dirs used in solaris hierarchy?