Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to replace a string in a file using another file as source? Post 303002637 by Akshay Hegde on Tuesday 29th of August 2017 02:46:33 PM
Old 08-29-2017
Code:
awk 'FNR==NR{ a[$1] = $2; next} { for(i in a)gsub(i, a[i]) }1'  string_list_file file > outfile

Here is example to start

Code:
akshay@db-3325:/tmp$ cat string_list_file 
foo bar
jack john
me you

akshay@db-3325:/tmp$ cat file 
1 2 3 jack 5
me 2 3 foo 5
me jack foo 4 5

akshay@db-3325:/tmp$ awk 'FNR==NR{ a[$1] = $2; next} { for(i in a)gsub(i, a[i]) }1'  string_list_file file 
1 2 3 john 5
you 2 3 bar 5
you john bar 4 5

This User Gave Thanks to Akshay Hegde For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how can search a String in one text file and replace the whole line in another file

i am very new to UNIX plz help me in this scenario i have two text files as below file1.txt name=Rajakumar. Discipline=Electronics and communication. Designation=software Engineer. file2.txt name=Kannan. Discipline=Mechanical. Designation=CADD Design Engineer. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkraja
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How To Replace A String In File With A String Containing Windows File Path

Hi, I have a file with the following contents # Lines that start with a # are comments. # # Calling TOAD like this will perform a comparison from command line : # # "C:\Program Files\Quest Software\Toad for Oracle 9.6\toad.exe" -c... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajan_san
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

find and replace a string in a file without the use of temp file

Hi - I am looking for a replacing a string in a in multiple *.sql files in directory with a new string without using a temporary file Normally I can use sed command as below for W in ls `FILE*.sql` do sed 's/OLD/NEW/g' $W > TEMPFILE.dat mv TEMPFILE.dat $W done But Here in my... (9 Replies)