Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Copy to Windows hidden share
Operating Systems AIX Copy to Windows hidden share Post 302999511 by pob579 on Wednesday 21st of June 2017 05:57:36 PM
Old 06-21-2017
Copy to Windows hidden share

Hi,

I need to find a solution for backing up/transferring BACKUP (dump file) from AIX (specifically) to Windows 2012 Hidden Share.

The vendor says that he cannot do a copy from his system to hidden share because it requires a password...

Personally, I think that there should be a solution (probably simple). I am not a Unix expert but cannot believe that in 2017 the password for Windows hidden share could be an obstacle.

Currently, we have an awkward solution and using Backup to tape for this system. We need to be able to copy first to DISK.

I did a quick search and found a way to do it from Linux... (didn't look closely yet).

Want to ask forum for a pro solution for the question if exists.

Thanks.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

recursive copy of hidden files

I need to know how to copy hidden files recursively? cp -r sourceDir/* targetDir/. ignores the hidden files. Thank you!! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: usfrog
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to copy hidden files from one folder to another

dear all, i want to copy all files in my home dir to another. from my home dir i have given ls -la then some hidden files are there with dot . .. and i also want to copy all dirs in my home as it is . because iam upgrading the system how to copy all files and dirs in my home dir... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rajan_ka1
1 Replies

3. IP Networking

how to share with windows