Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with delaying script and implementing checks before completion Post 302999351 by tomeurp on Sunday 18th of June 2017 05:31:07 AM
Old 06-18-2017
Code Help with delaying script and implementing checks before completion

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if any of you could help me with this. I am an absolute beginner and don't know how to program, but I can follow a tutorial and tweak code sometimes. My understanding of programing is limitted to what for and while loops do, and how if then else logic works. That being said:

My setup is that I have a raspberry pi hooked up to an APC UPS via USB. When mains power goes out, the UPS triggers a "powerout" script which, in turn, sends me an email notification and calls me to my home number and my mobile phone using a SIP account, and a pre-recorded message plays when the call is answered.

I've got this working following various tutorials readily available on the internet.

However, there is a huge problem with this setup as when there is a little fluctuation in the mains power, the UPS turns to battery power in matter of miliseconds and the script is triggered regardless of the fact that power may return in a couple more miliseconds. Therefore I tend to receive calls alerting me of a power failure in the middle of the night and it is really inconvenient.

Therefore, I was hoping that you guys could help me tweak the script so that it waits for, let's say, 10 seconds, then checks again the UPS status, and, only if the UPS is still running on batteries after those 10 secs. places the phone call.

Here is the script which gets triggered when the power goes out:

Code:
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
#!/bin/sh
#
# This shell script if placed in /etc/apcupsd
# will be called by /etc/apcupsd/apccontrol when the UPS
# goes on batteries.
# We send an email message to root to notify him.
#

#HOSTNAME=`hostname`
#MSG="$HOSTNAME UPS $1 Power Failure !!!"
#
#(