Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming How to call a variable in awk again ? Post 302999096 by Ethan Stark on Tuesday 13th of June 2017 07:30:56 AM
Old 06-13-2017
down vote
You cannot grab the output of an awk system() call, you can only get the exit status. Use the getline/pipe or getline/variable/pipe constructs

Code:
awk '{
    cmd = "your_command " $1
    while (cmd | getline line) {
        do_something_with(line) 
    }
    close(cmd)
}' file

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment please use code tags

Ethan Stark

Last edited by jim mcnamara; 06-13-2017 at 09:32 AM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

does this variable call work--Korn

I am new to the UNIX environment, but not to programming. My intention is to create a 2D array and print it. Since the Korn Shell does not support that kind of variable, the following is my solution right now. I have created a group of variables as follows: table00 table01 table02 table10... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: morkfard
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Enviornment Variable in B shell (I call it nested variable)

#!/bin/sh APP_ROOT_MODE1=/opt/app1.0 APP_ROOT_MODE2=/opt/app2.0 APP_ROOT=${APP_ROOT_${APP_MODE}} # enviornment variable APP_MODE will be exported in the terminal where # we run the applciation, its value is string - MODE1 or MODE2 # My intension is: # when export APP_MODE=MODE1... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: princelinux
4 Replies

3. Programming

Setting environment variable using JNI call

I have function declaration in Java and same function definition written in C programming language.. A JNI call from Java is made to a fuction...Function would set the environment variable { putenv(cEnvString1);} using C-built -in function ..and later return the encrypted string... putenv is... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: shafi2all
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting