Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX and Linux Applications Help with AT&T UNIX SYSTEM V Version 4 Console Login Post 302998081 by Don Cragun on Wednesday 24th of May 2017 11:09:00 PM
Old 05-25-2017
Note also that the default erase and kill characters on SVR4 (# and @, respectively if I remember correctly) might not be the defaults you are used to on more recent systems. If your password contains either of those characters you'll need to backslash escape them when entering your password when you log in.
This User Gave Thanks to Don Cragun For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Login Console

Hi All, I am very new to Unix and already have a problem... My predecessor didn't note down the username and password to login to the console of an HP D Class 9000 enterprise server we have. I was wondering whether there is any way to bypass this console login screen in Unix... If not is there... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: RMadjitey
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk: Version && nextfile

How can I find which version of Awk is installed? OpSystem is HPUX 11.x I am getting an error when trying to use the keyword nextfile and I dont know why! (Well, I can only assume that I have am using a version of Awk that does not support nextfile. However, according to O'Reilly, nextfile is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: google
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Need information about System V & Berkley Syntax for Unix

Hi, Can somebody give me some information on System V & Berkley's Unix formats. Any link will be helpful. thanks (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vibhor_agarwali
6 Replies

4. HP-UX

Cannot able to login on console