Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Output path for file from search file Post 302996742 by UN007 on Monday 1st of May 2017 04:52:41 PM
Old 05-01-2017
Output path for file from search file

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Unix and trying to learn as much as I can. But I do not need to create urgent scripts that I can use instantly. SmilieSmilie

One of the scripts I am trying to write is essentially something that takes in a .txt file with product names.

The product names are looked up in various directories and folders to find the file with .xls extension and outputting the full extension path against each of the input file.

e.g: The input file : Beer_names.txt (consisting of various names of beers), for this I will take Duos.

It looks up throughout the directories and folders to find the Duos.xls file and outputs the exact location of the file.

In this case the output could be something like:
Code:
sgfs/beer_strength/2041343_newmalt/Brewer_3422E23/05012017_rensn/Results/Duos.xls

As of now I have to individually search and locate each of the locations and copy the file paths. Can this be made as script???

Thank you,
un007
Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use CODE tags when displaying sample input, sample output, and code segments.

Last edited by Don Cragun; 05-01-2017 at 09:38 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk script to search an html file and output links

hello. i want to make an awk script to search an html file and output all the links (e.g .html, .htm, .jpg, .doc, .pdf, etc..) inside it. also, i want the links that will be output to be split into 3 groups (separated by an empty line), the first group with links to other webpages (.html .htm etc),... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: kyris
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Input file redirect in output path and want name as inputfilename_new.txt

not required this time (6 Replies)