Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX Set, setenv or export? Confused between three options Post 302996370 by vbe on Tuesday 25th of April 2017 04:40:37 AM
Old 04-25-2017
Thanks for the correcting me, was so obvious I zapped the magic line you need in .profile ...
There is a good reason to use a .kshrc if you use/have heavy customisation.:
To be sure no one has a corrupt environment when upgrading/patching OS if a new .profile is provided in the upgrade, it will be used as default for all users, thus avoiding extra most probable useless calls to internal support team... and as MadeInGermany flagged, the only thing we check here is that the magic line is present , if not will be added to the default...

Things get more complicated when using X server on PC with ssh and have an heterogenous environment with many flavours of UX/linux...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

set, setenv

Well first of all I am a real Unix newbie. I am taking a course on it in University. I kind of understand set and setenv but, I think it si something that I should really understand. So I thought that I would try a forum out and see how good you guys really are. The question: Execute the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: w6u6f
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I set permanent setenv !!!

Hello, I just want to know ow I can set permanent pathes or whatever using setenv command. I'm using c shell . regards, me (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: geoquest
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Difference between SET and SETENV

I never undestood exactly what's the difference between the SET and SETENV commands. One sets variables visible to all users and the other (SETENV) only to the specific user environment ? Thanks in advance, BraZil - thE heLL iS HEre :mad: !!! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: 435 Gavea
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

difference between set and export