Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX Set, setenv or export? Confused between three options Post 302996306 by userexperience on Monday 24th of April 2017 05:24:14 AM
Old 04-24-2017
Set, setenv or export? Confused between three options

Hi Experts,

Need your help in understanding the commands to setup the environment variables in hp-ux.

Beleive need to use either set,setenv or export.

I am confused between above three options, when to use which option?

On command line, I have tried both set and setenv but couldn't able to set the environment variables. However with export it was working fine.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

set, setenv

Well first of all I am a real Unix newbie. I am taking a course on it in University. I kind of understand set and setenv but, I think it si something that I should really understand. So I thought that I would try a forum out and see how good you guys really are. The question: Execute the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: w6u6f
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I set permanent setenv !!!

Hello, I just want to know ow I can set permanent pathes or whatever using setenv command. I'm using c shell . regards, me (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: geoquest
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Difference between SET and SETENV

I never undestood exactly what's the difference between the SET and SETENV commands. One sets variables visible to all users and the other (SETENV) only to the specific user environment ? Thanks in advance, BraZil - thE heLL iS HEre :mad: !!! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: 435 Gavea
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

difference between set and export

Hi, can anybody tell me what is the difference between set and export in unix. -Ashish (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shriashishpatil
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

difference between EXPORT and setenv