Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Can't delete a file in the trash on OSX 10.11.6 Post 302988007 by hicksd8 on Monday 19th of December 2016 02:29:53 PM
Old 12-19-2016
Hi,

Read this thread:

File name starts with esc character.

I'm not a OSX expert but, as with generic Unix/Linux, if all else fails, nuke the inode. The inode is the only route that the OS can find the file. If the inode doesn't exist, neither does the file.

Read Corona688's post#2.

If Corona688 is on here today with luck he may well chip in.

---------- Post updated at 07:29 PM ---------- Previous update was at 07:16 PM ----------

And don't forget you can have the same inode number on different filesystems. So make absolutely sure which filesystem you are operating on.

sent from my HTC smartphone
These 2 Users Gave Thanks to hicksd8 For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

file permisions 2000 to OSX

Could anyone tell me how or point me in the right direction on how to save files from a 2000box to a OSX server with the correct file permissions. File goes over and the only person that has r/w permissions is the owner everyone else is read only. HELP!!! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mom
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Script for automatic deletion of trash file of mail server

Hi, I have a mail server with limited space and operating system is sun solaris 8 (sparc). I do not have provisions to increase the space for home directory. So i have to delete files from /home/username/mail/trash which are more than 10 days old automatically. So my script should be like... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: crown2100bd
1 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

unix executable file problem on MAC OSX ??? please help