Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Sudo connect to a remote server and execute scripts in remote server Post 302978422 by masubram on Saturday 30th of July 2016 06:28:25 AM
Old 07-30-2016
Hi Venkat,

Thank you very much for the reply, just got few doubts in the prototype you have attached.

1) In the first line, you have mentioned there is "/bin/uname" what is this exactly for and in place of uname do I need to give the username with which I am connecting to remote server?

2) Also there is "> /dev/null 2>&1;" in the script, is it mandatory to have this line in the script as I don't have permission to that path, including it may fail the script and can I specify any other path instead of it?

Please don't mind if the above questions sound silly, as I am a novice to unix, I find them hard to under stand.

Thanks for your help Smilie

Regards.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Remote Connect - SCO Open Server

Hello.. Please helppppppp...!!! I am using SCO Open Server version 5.0 at work. I am trying to find a third party software to use on my computer at home which has windows 98 on it to do remote connect to my work. Is there any such software ? I know there is PC ANYWHERE but i don't think it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jackpotp
2 Replies

2. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

Connect to a Remote Sybase Server Through Script.

Hi all, I am trying to connect to Remote Sybase database Server through shell script. I am operating on WindowsXP, connect to Unix(version SunOS: 5.8) The thing is i dont know how to connect to Sybase Server through my script file? Are there any manual pages which can guide me through the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Aparna_k82
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Connect to a Remote Sybase Server Through Script