Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX [Opinion] A Public Answer To Rob McNelly Post 302976046 by bakunin on Thursday 23rd of June 2016 03:29:18 AM
Old 06-23-2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukessd
A large number of Power sysadmin are simply not able, or capable, of doing their jobs.
Amen. You are right, but i think you are missing the point: first, a determined "non-expert" (to avoid words more to the point) will be able to mess up anything. As i said, when locking him out of the HMC helps, why not lock him out of any other LPAR too?

Second: this is digging into a much larger area so i'll try to keep it short. The reason that so few capable admins for AIX are there is because IBM did (and, IMHO, still does) a very bad job at educating them. If i am a Linux admin and want to hone my skills i get myself a PC for $300 and start hacking. I will perhaps make it go FUBAR a few times but all this will teach me valuable lessons and i will be all the more capable once i work on really productive systems professionally. If i am an AIX admin i do - what? Buy myself a system for ~ $20k only to find out i can't even create an LPAR because i need to shell out another $50k in various licenses for one thing or the other? This might be OK for a bank, but is beyond my financial reach.

In addition the IBM documentation once used to be exhaustive. It isn't any more. In fact it is quite incomplete, bookmarks to the documentation tend to be invalidated within hours so that you start over searching for the same pages (which sometimes are not to be found again however) and even if you find what you search for the information is oftenly incomplete and leaves many questions open.

Of course there are courses: EUR 5k for 4 days of class and what they tell you is basically: "use SMIT and you are on the safe side". I don't care how to do something, i want to understand what i do. I found out over and over again that the people holding the course knew even less than me.

Quote: