Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Emergency UNIX and Linux Support Centos 7 Network Manager overwriting resolv.conf Post 302973466 by Skrynesaver on Wednesday 18th of May 2016 04:07:53 AM
Old 05-18-2016
RedHat Centos 7 Network Manager overwriting resolv.conf

Hi all,

I need to add domain and search parameters to resolv.conf, however network manager overwrites.

Setting the PEERDNS=No in the interface file seems to have no effect on this behaviour.

Sadly I cannot just disable NM as these are not my hosts, I'm just attempting to install a platform on them.

If I can modify Network Manager's behaviour over CLI or get it to enforce my chosen pragmas either would be great.

Thanks in advance...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

/etc/resolv.conf

I am new to unix. I have edited the /etc/resolv.conf. It shows domain name ip address ip address These are the same ips of the dns I use for windows. Still I get no name resolution on the internet. I can ping external ip's is there anything else I need to check? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rpnhavoc
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

dns and resolv.conf

Hi ,,still struggling with unix ,,the system is running sco openserver release 5 and have dsl installed ,, the dsl modem is a bt router which in turn is connected to a vpn hardware router,, which also serves internet to the whole network ,, but i still cant connect to the internet via the unix box... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: b03der
10 Replies

3. SuSE

Suse 10 resolv.conf

I want to have 7 search domains in my resolv.conf, but it seems to like only the first six. I read somewhere that the OS will only recognize the first 6 (or the first 154 characters). Is that the case with SUSE 10? thx -Kevin (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kjbaumann
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

resolv.conf