Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris SunOS 5.5.1 usage of Makefile command in make file Post 302971842 by jlliagre on Tuesday 26th of April 2016 09:08:34 AM
Old 04-26-2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajujayanthy
I am new to Solaris and compilation using make files.
You might be new, but SunOS 2.5.1 is more archaeology that CS nowadays.
Quote:
1. Why is "Makefile" being used as a command? What does it signify? It is not defined anywhere in any other make file also.
There is no evidence in the posted material Makefile is used as a command. Nowhere is it executed. That would be quite surprising anyway.
Quote:
2. What is a .mac file in Solaris? what is it's purpose?
No specific purpose, there are no .mac type with Solaris, the developers might have chosen that extension for macros or whatever.
Quote:
3. What is the use of .def file in SOlaris? What is it's purpose?
Same as the above. The best guess would be some defines.

Last edited by jlliagre; 04-26-2016 at 05:10 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

make and clean in a single rule in the makefile.

Hi, This stems from the following thread https://www.unix.com/showthread.php?t=18299 I have a makefile which makes either executables or a shared library. i.e. make -f unix.mak will create the executables and make -f unix.mak libolsv will create the shared library. Since these have to be... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vino
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Migration of binary file from Sunos 5.8 to Sunos 5.9

I have compiled binary file using "cc" on SunOS 5.8 and the same binary file i have copied to SunOS 5.9 and it is giving me core dump error.I want to know whether migration of compiled code from lower version to higer version created this problem. how can i solve this problem.I am pasting the core... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Arvind Maurya
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Questions about make -C in SunOS