Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Cut command: can't make it cut fields Post 302971678 by scrutinizerix on Saturday 23rd of April 2016 07:50:52 PM
Old 04-23-2016
Cut command: can't make it cut fields

I'm a complete beginner in UNIX (and not a computer science student either), just undergoing a tutoring course. Trying to replicate the instructions on my own I directed output of the ls listing command (lists all files of my home directory ) to My_dir.tsv file (see the screenshot) to make use of cut command so to have columns 1,3,4,9 cut (e.g. "left").

However when I'm trying to execute the command

Code:
cut -f 1,3,4,9 My_dir.tsv

nothing happens. I guess it's because the file isn't formatted properly with regard to implementing tabbed spaces. I imagined that automatic formatting, with the deployment of columns I see in output, emerging along with the result of ls is a .tsv file by default but I was wrong.

What should I do to make it work as intended? How do I make a real .tsv file of ls output?

My OS is OS X (Lion).
Cut command: can't make it cut fields-tsvpng

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to cut fields

I want to cut two coloums simulatiously and paste in some other file for ex: cut d ' ' -f3 -f4 xxx | paste yyy - > zzz; from the above i want to cut two fileds 3 and 4 and paste as last coloums of single file (zzz). how to solve this regards rajan (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rajan_ka1
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cut Last 3 Fields

I have a text: dsj khfksjdh <time> EST 2006 ab cgnr jkkjt <time> EST 2006 gfhdgjghg <time> EST 2006 fkdjh kjhsekjrh kdjhfkh jhdfkhfdkjh kjdf <time> EST 2006 In the above file i need to extract time from every line... which is always the third from the last... Pls help! Cheers, Bouren (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bourne
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

cut: get either one or two fields