Sponsored Content
Special Forums Hardware SAS or SSD for Ubuntu 14.04 and data analysis Post 302966368 by cmccabe on Thursday 11th of February 2016 09:00:36 AM
Old 02-11-2016
SAS or SSD for Ubuntu 14.04 and data analysis

I am in the process of building a workstation and have a question related to performance. I am a scientist who deals with big data (average file size 30-50gb). My OS is ubuntu 14.04 and so far I have a 128gb dual xeon E5-2630 with 6 cores each. I/O buffering is an issue so I am adding a 256/512? PCIe card and either 2 SSD or SAS drives for the OS and software. Since the PCIe will be separate its main purpose will be for file transfer, so would a SAS or SSD be a better fit for the OS? I am leaning towards SAS for the buffering issue, but wanted to ask more knowledgeable users. I forgot to mention that there will be a separate 1 or 2TB drive. Any recommendations for the size of the SAS or SSD? Thanks Smilie.

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX and Linux Applications

help needed- data analysis-table-chart-2d plot software

Hi all, I posted the same message under 'Kaleidagraph like software for Ubuntu' thread. I guess there may not be many people familiar with Kaleidagraph. So I post my message under another subject name. I need a tool for Ubuntu 8.10, -which is quick and easy to learn and use (as I am... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: apprentice
1 Replies

2. BSD

Using SSD in FreeBSD

Now that SSD drives are becoming mainstream, I had a few questions on installing a SSD drive in a FreeBSD environment. Can FreeBSD be made SSD aware, that is, somehow let FreeBSD know that reads and writes should be limited or deferred to extend the disk's life? Is there a setting for wear... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: figaro
0 Replies

3. Red Hat

What is the best tools for performance data gathering and analysis?