Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell script to run multiple jobs and it's dependent jobs Post 302965550 by Don Cragun on Saturday 30th of January 2016 05:31:36 PM
Old 01-30-2016
My old eyes are having difficulty deciphering the names of your jobs. And, with lines running through or behind some jobs, not all of the dependencies are clear.

Do you really have to read the log files to determine whether a job completed successfully? Why aren't your jobs written to exit with a zero exit status on successful completion and a non-zero exit status on failure? If you do have to decipher log files, what are the names of the log files?

What arguments need to be passed to your jobs? What I/O redirections need to be set up for your jobs?
This User Gave Thanks to Don Cragun For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to write a Script to run series of batch jobs on unix platform

Im new to unix shell scripting, I have to run batch jobs on unix. for example i have 5 jobs. first 2 can kickoff parallely. after completely finishing the 2 previous jobs the 3 job should kick off..once 3rd is over 4 th and 5th can kick off parallely. Each jobs run for 1 or 2 hours each. How to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: venki311
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

background jobs exit status and limit the number of jobs to run

i need to execute 5 jobs at a time in background and need to get the exit status of all the jobs i wrote small script below , i'm not sure this is right way to do it.any ideas please help. $cat run_job.ksh #!/usr/bin/ksh #################################### typeset -u SCHEMA_NAME=$1 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: GrepMe
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

how can i make two dependent jobs into cron?

Hi all, How can i make two dependent jobs into crontab? means after the first job the second job should run in a single crontab entry in unix. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: megh