Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Batch cycle and move files, please help Post 302964002 by drunkoctopus on Friday 8th of January 2016 11:21:10 PM
Old 01-09-2016
Batch cycle and move files, please help

Hi guys, I'm not a great programmer but I do this project with a cool data and it has tons and tons of files which I need to sort before I can work with it.

The problem I need to solve is to move all files that look like

Code:
/X/Y/A_BC.xml

to

Code:
/X/B/A/Y/BC.xml

So it involves cycling through directories, reading filenames and creating new directories out of filenames. If you give me the solution for this exercise I'll do the rest myself of course.

I tried high-level languages, it takes too long. I need some kind of shell script for that.

Thanks!

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 01-09-2016 at 01:14 AM.. Reason: CODE tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Batch files and FTP under Unix

Hey all, Does anyone know if Unix has an equivalent to a batch file? And if so, does it work the same way as a batch file under windows? AND, if you can answer that one, is it possible to run such a file under HP-UX and have it execute while in an FTP command line? What I need to do is... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ober5861
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Looping/Repetition in Batch files

Hi All, I'm just new to UNIX, does anyone know how to create a batch file in UNIX that does the following routines: 1.) process multiple files in a directory in DOS, I set my sample input file as: set INPUTFILE=%1 in UNIX>> ???? 2.) every file to be processed by executing a program... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kimpot7268
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Looping/Repetition in Batch files