Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Percentage calculation
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Percentage calculation Post 302958363 by RudiC on Wednesday 21st of October 2015 01:55:40 PM
Old 10-21-2015
Try also (no error checking included):
Code:
awk     '
BEGIN           {ENG = "BKMGT"
                 for (i=split (ENG, UN, ""); i>0; i--) EXP[UN[i]]=i-1
                }

function NBR(NUMSTR)    {NUMSTR=toupper(NUMSTR)
                         match (NUMSTR, "[" ENG "]")
                         return substr(NUMSTR,1,RSTART-1) * 1024 ^ EXP[substr(NUMSTR, RSTART,1)]
                        }

NR==1           {print $0, "percent"
                 next
                }

{printf "%s\t %.2f%%\n", $0, 100 * NBR($3) / NBR($2)
                }
' OFS="\t" file

This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

percentage by line

hi, I am new to awk.. and getting used to the scripts. I have a small data set 5 coulms.. 16 rows. 1) I am trying to remove the percentages of each line of colum 3..like first line divided the sum of colum 3 divided by 100 and print it out. removing hte percentages of each line I would really... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rockiefx
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk percentage

how would you calculate percentage by per line? Given a column of 16 lines, grab each line and divide it by the sum of the entire column and multiply by 100? thanks ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: rockiefx
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How can i calculate percentage ??

i have 3 files like total.dat=18 equal.dat=14 notequal.dat=16 i need find the equal percentange means: equalpercentage = ($equal.dat / $total.dat * 100) How i can do this ? I tried some of the answers to calculate the percentage in this forums.but it couldn't worked.Some one please... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: bobprabhu
6 Replies