Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Search for a string,delete the line and replace with new string in a file Post 302956246 by sea on Monday 28th of September 2015 10:55:00 AM
Old 09-28-2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by sea
Hi Pradhikshan

Any attempts from your side yet?
<...>
Thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how can search a String in one text file and replace the whole line in another file

i am very new to UNIX plz help me in this scenario i have two text files as below file1.txt name=Rajakumar. Discipline=Electronics and communication. Designation=software Engineer. file2.txt name=Kannan. Discipline=Mechanical. Designation=CADD Design Engineer. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkraja
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

search string and delete the line

Hi All, I have a file from Mainframe which has one of the lines with so many words... i tried to fold, format to 80 chararcter.. stil did not work. So i have decided to search for a string in that line Ex.FLIGHT PLAN and once if it is found i want to delete the entire line. Please help... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: digitalrg
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

search string in a file and retrieve 10 lines including string line

Hi Guys, I am trying to write a perl script to search a string "Name" in the file "FILE" and also want to create a new file and push the searched string Name line along with 10 lines following the same. can anyone of you please let me know how to go about it ? (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: sukrish
8 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Search a string in the file and then replace another string after that position