Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Day/Hour diff between two date Post 302951222 by sea on Tuesday 4th of August 2015 05:18:33 AM
Old 08-04-2015
I'm no expert with awk, but here's something i'd like to share:

While i do agree that one-liners are cool, there are occasions it just makes no sense.
Saying, a well formated code is easier to read - and find issues/improvements, than within a one liner of that length. (me have FHD (1920x1080) display, and i need to scroll sideways)

This said, you might want to use a function (rather than an if-block) to transform time and date to seconds and to avoid things like:
Code:
... +((0*3600+0*60+0)+ ..

For which you could have just written +0.

Once you transformed the date+time to seconds, you simply subtract the one from the other and get the difference.

Hope my 2 cents help

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Get date and time for past 1 hour from current date

Hi, I need to get the date and time for past 1 hour from the current date. Anyone know how to do so? Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: spch2o
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix Script for getting date and validating just Hour

Hi, Can someone guide me to write a unix script for getting a hour out of a date command and validating hour to see if its > 7 and < 16. if hours is >7 and <16 then assign a variable value of 0730 and if hour is >16 then assign a variable value of 1630? Help appreciated. Thanks in advance.... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: zulfikarmd
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare file timestamp with current date. Diff must be 1 hour.