Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Debian Using sed with bash variables Post 302945889 by linuxjunkie on Thursday 4th of June 2015 10:12:52 AM
Old 06-04-2015
Question

if u use the command like this

Code:
 sed -i -e "3i/$WEBSITE/g" /etc/squid3/acls/allowed-sites

then i get this in the file
Code:
/mm.mm/g

Im new to using sed so i dont really know what all the quotes and things mean yet.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

using sed on bash variables (or maybe awk?)

Hi all- I've been fooling with this for a few days, but I'm rather new at this... I have a bash variable containing a long string of various characters, for instance: JUNK=this that the other xyz 1234 56 789 I don't know what "xyz" actually is, but I know that: START=he other and ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rev66
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash variables

Ummm can anybody help me with this one? Its prob quite simple. I bascially have a file name say J1x2x3x7.dat Im using the file name as a variable in a bash script. Want I want to do is extract most of the file name and make it a new variable expect with say one of the number now a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: RichieFondel
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to use in bash variables and quotes

I have some troubles with variables and quotes... I want: if $URL is empty (no user input) go to http://www.localhost/index.php/ else add this string (search) "?s=+$URL" EXAMPLE: No user input string= http://www.localhost/index.php/ User input = "unix" string=... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: aspire
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Expanding variables with Ed Bash 3.2.33