Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Archiving and moving files into directories, creating directories, etc. Post 302939472 by wyclef on Wednesday 25th of March 2015 05:27:27 PM
Old 03-25-2015
i want to take the database archive, put it in _backups in a folder called 'database', then i want to take the site, put it in _backups in a folder called 'www', and have the entire thing archived.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

archiving equal sets of files from directories

Good morning. I am trying to write a script on SunOS that will tar up files from a set of directories. This is no problem, but what I need to do is to create 3 different archives each containing a third of the files from a particular sub-directory. So if I have a directory structure: ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: 1world1love
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash and Awk for creating directories and moving files

I have a security system that FTPs the camera files to my machine, however I want to sort the pictures (taken every 30s) into directories by hour. Every picture uses the following file format. yymmddhhmmsstt.jpg (where tt is the milliseconds) I am thinking the for loop is best for file... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kiint
11 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Moving files between directories using SFTP

I want to connect to an SFTP server, GET some files, then move those files to a different directory on the SFTP server so I don't try to GET them next time. But there doesn't seem to be a way to move files between directories on the remote server from SFTP. I missing something obvious? And if... (6 Replies)