Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with Perl script for identifying dupes in column1 Post 302932822 by Skrynesaver on Sunday 25th of January 2015 05:35:21 AM
Old 01-25-2015
In Perl...
Code:
#! /usr/bin/perl
use strict;
use warnings;
open (my $words, '<', $ARGV[0]);
my (%seen,@unique,@dupe);
while($words){
        if (/^(\w+)=\w+$/){
                if ($seen{$1}<1){
                        $seen{$1}++;
                        push (@unique,$_);
                }
                else{
                        push @dupe, $_;
                }
        }
        else{
                print "Not a word definition:$_"
        }
}
print "UNIQUE WORDS\n\n", join ('',@unique),
        "DUPLICATES\n\n", join ('',@dupe);

This User Gave Thanks to Skrynesaver For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Identifying prior date in shell script

Hi guys, I'm a newbie to shell script. I have to write a shell script that is supposed to give me a date which should be older than the current date when I supply "no. of days" as a command line parameter to the script. (i.e)., if I am giving the no. of days value as 305, the script should... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: royalibrahim
5 Replies

2. Red Hat

identifying SU mode by shell script

the following bash script is not working in fedora-11 Could anyone help me please? #!/bin/bash if -ne 0];then echo " you are in root" else echo " you must be in root -su mode??" fi exit (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Turtel
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using an awk script to identify dupes in two files

Hello, I have two files. File1 or the master file contains two columns separated by a delimiter: a=b b=d e=f g=h File 2 which is the file to be processed has only a single column a h c b What I need is an awk script to identify unique names from file 2 which are not found in the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: gimley
6 Replies