Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Search a character and replace it with multiple lines Post 302918260 by RavinderSingh13 on Monday 22nd of September 2014 02:31:56 PM
Old 09-22-2014
Hello Mukul Sharma,

Welcome to forum, please use code tags while using putting commands and codes in post as per forum rules. Now for your post, could you please let us know the input and expected output, so that we may help you in same. Kindly make sure you are using code tags while putting commands and codes in post.

Thanks,
R. Singh

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all, I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u. well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h. and in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abovais
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to search and replace based on character count

Hi, I wanted to add a newline character after every 100 characters in a file using a awk or shell without reading each line of the file. I want to run a command on the complete file. This does based on a string but i want to add a new line after every 100 characters ir-respective of the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vijaykrc
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

vi Search for text, Replace with <CR> or control character.

Greetings, Using vi, how can I change the following text: -I/myviews/nexus_7400rel/vobs/nexus/platforms/97400/include -I/myviews/nexus_7400rel/vobs/nexus/modules/i2c/7400/include -I/myviews/nexus_7400rel/vobs/nexus/modules/surface/7400/include Into this:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: omega949
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace multiple occurances of same character with a single character.