Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract specific line in an html file starting and ending with specific pattern to a text file Post 302915515 by dejavo on Wednesday 3rd of September 2014 02:05:26 PM
Old 09-03-2014
Extract specific line in an html file starting and ending with specific pattern to a text file

Hi
This is my first post and I'm just a beginner. So please be nice to me.

I have a couple of html files where a pattern beginning with "http://www.site.com" and ending with "/resource[number].dat" is present on every 241st line. How do I extract this to a new text file?
I have tried
Code:
sed -n 241,241p sample.htm >>store.txt

But it results in the complete line getting extracted.

Please help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

extract some specific text file urgent pls

i have a big text file . i want to create new file as extract some specific text from the big file i am using hp ux please help (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: reyazan
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract specific pattern from a file

Hi All, I am a newbie to Shell Scripting. I have a File The Server Name XXX002 ------------------------- 2.1 LAPD Iface Id Link MTU Side ecc_3_1 4 Up 512 User ecc_3_2 5 Up 512 User The Server Name XXX003 ------------------------- 2.1 LAPD (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: athreyavc
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

extract the lines between specific line number from a text file

Hi I want to extract certain text between two line numbers like 23234234324 and 54446655567567 How do I do this with a simple sed or awk command? Thank you. ---------- Post updated at 06:16 PM ---------- Previous update was at 05:55 PM ---------- found it: sed -n '#1,#2p'... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: return_user
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How can i break a text file into parts that occur between a specific pattern