Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk script to perform an action similar to vlookup between two csv files in UNIX Post 302915508 by Prit Siv on Wednesday 3rd of September 2014 01:09:35 PM
Old 09-03-2014
awk script to perform an action similar to vlookup between two csv files in UNIX

Hi,

I am new to awk/unix and am trying to put together an awk script to perform an action similar to vlookup between the two csv files.

Here are the contents of the two files:

File 1:

Code:
Date,ParentID,Number,Area,Volume,Dimensions
2014-01-01,ABC,247,83430.33,857.84,8110.76
2014-01-01,DEF,295,2904.60,139.33,102.95
2014-01-01,ABC,146,11392.70,5017.07,800.96
2014-01-01,XYZ,465,589.76,2.55,1145.33

File 2:

Code:
ID,DATE__C,Parent__ID
PPPG000000tXZWXIA4,2014-01-01,DEF
TTTG000000tXZWYIA4,2014-01-01,ABC
UUUG000000tXZWbIAO,2014-01-01,XYZ

I am trying to do a lookup between the two files based on the date and the parent ID. If the date AND The parent ID are the same, the "ID" (first column from in file 2) needs to be copied to file 1 (as the first column). If they are not the same, then a blank should be copied to file 1.

For example, the output would be as follows:

File 1:

Code:
ID,Date,ParentID,Number,Area,Volume,Dimensions
TTTG000000tXZWYIA4,2014-01-01,ABC,247,83430.33,857.84,8110.76
PPPG000000tXZWXIA4,2014-01-01,DEF,295,2904.60,139.33,102.95
,2014-02-01,ABC,146,11392.70,5017.07,800.96
UUUG000000tXZWbIAO,2014-01-01,XYZ,465,589.76,2.55,1145.33

Can someone please assist?

Really appreciate any help!

Thank you,

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perform action file name written to the pipe

Hello, I have a script that monitors files uploaded via ftp. After a successful upload, the file name is written to the pipe. There is another program that reads this pipe and allows automatically run any program or script ( say test.sh ) to process the newly uploaded file. cat test.sh... (2 Replies)