Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Run Bash Script thrice & then interval for 10 mins. Post 302909666 by jeetz on Friday 18th of July 2014 06:42:34 AM
Old 07-18-2014
Run Bash Script thrice & then interval for 10 mins.

Hi...

I am very new to shell scripting. I have written a script with help of this forum and some googling and it works the way I want it to. Currently this script checks for my SIP trunk registration every 5 seconds, if registration is not available then it reboots my router through telnet session and keeps rebooting it till the registration is available.

I would like the router rebooted only thrice at max and then wait for 10 minute, check for registration again and if failed then max 3 reboots and interval again.

However if the trunk registration is successful then script should keep checking it every 5 secs as per current practice.

Would be thankful for help provided.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
typeset -i interval=5
run=true
trunk=vonage
while [[ "$run" == "true" ]]; do
checktrunk=$(asterisk -rx "sip show peer $trunk" | grep -c "Status.*OK")
if [[ $checktrunk -eq 0 ]]; then
echo "$(date): SIP trunk registration failed."
sleep 2
{
sleep 2
echo admin
sleep 2
echo password
sleep 2
echo sys reboot
echo exit
} | telnet 192.168.1.1
else
echo "$(date): SIP trunk registration OK."
fi
sleep 5
done
exit 1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script Run Interval to be dynamic

Hi All. I have a script which has to be run periodically. The frequency of its run will be decided by a Database stored value PollRate. e.g. If PollRate value is 300secs, then the script should be executed every 5 minutes, if it's 1500secs, it should execute every 15 minutes. Is there... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rahulrathod
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

run a command automatically after every 10 mins