Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Need to revert default prompt in Linux after setting PS1 command Post 302884044 by karthick nath on Friday 17th of January 2014 08:10:07 AM
Old 01-17-2014
As I'm a beginner I really dont understand what you are about to say.

Eventhough thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

PS1 with date stamp included in prompt

How would I put the date within my PS1 command for my shell prompt? I have it set to: PS1='$>' I tried PS1='$>' but that didn't work. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kymberm
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

colors in Prompt - $PS1

would someone please explain in detail, how does the code below change the color or bash prompt $ echo $PS1 :\033 are there other tricks like above? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rakeshou
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

PS1 prompt

please advise what's wrong with this command ? PS1="`hostname`:`who am i | cut -d " " -f1`:>>" trying to make the PS1 prompt look like : machine_name:username:>> thank you (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: venhart
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help setting PS1 prompt to include current time

Hi, I'm using the ksh shell and I'd like to set my PS1 prompt on an AIX system to include, amongst ther things, the current time. This was my best effort: export PS1=$(date -u +%R)'${ME}:${PWD}# ' but this only sets the time to the value when PS1 is defined and the time value doesn't... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: m223464
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get a Prompt (PS1) Timestamp under /sbin/sh?

Hi, I'm trying to find out if there is a way to get a timestamp on my Solaris root shell prompt using /sbin/sh? I'm trying to archive something in line with the following: 12:34:26 root@server # 12:34:28 root@server # 12:34:28 root@server # ls ... 12:34:30 root@server # I know there... (1 Reply)