Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Cat Input & Output to a Log file Post 302880279 by RudiC on Wednesday 18th of December 2013 01:46:29 PM
Old 12-18-2013
Try this (but you won't see what you type);
Code:
exec 5>&1 6>&2 >&a.log
cat a.txt
exec  1>&5 2>&6

This saves stdout and stderr to some dummy file descriptors, redirects them to x.log, and later restores them from the dummies.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

for i in `cat myname.txt` && for y in `cat yourname.txt`

cat myname.txt John Doe I John Doe II John Doe III ----------------------------------------------------------------------- for i in `cat myname.txt` do echo This is my name: $i >> thi.is.my.name.txt done ----------------------------------------------------------------------- cat... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: danimad
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to input the CAT command output in Shell

Hi guys... I am new to this scripting...so please forgive me if anything worng in my questions... here is my question.. I have file structure /home/oracle/<sid>/logs/bkup now i want to write a script which should grep the sid name from a file..and it should replace the <SID> with... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: troubleurheart
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

cat file and parse output

Hello, I'm new to shell scripting and did a search on the forum to what I want to do but couldn't find anything. I have about 9 routers that outputs to 1 syslog file daily named cisco.year.mo.date.log ex: cisco.2009.05.11.log My goal is to make a parsing script that cats today's syslog... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjrambar
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic output file generation using a input text file with predefined output format