Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: .ftp files
Operating Systems AIX .ftp files Post 302877750 by rbatte1 on Tuesday 3rd of December 2013 09:20:03 AM
Old 12-03-2013
Perhaps neater to remove the cat:-
Code:
ftp -ivn < somefile.ftp > $ftplogfile 2>&1

The flags are:-
  • -n Not prompting (for user credentials, server, etc.)
  • -i disable interactive (i.e. it won't prompt if you mget *)
  • -v verbose output so you can see what's going on
Make sure you have a quit at the end of your somefile.ftp, just to be neat. Some FTP clients may loop waiting for input if you don't explicitly close them.

You can then read the log files back to check that the process has run correctly.

I hope that this helps,
Robin
Liverpool/Blackburn
UK

Last edited by rbatte1; 12-03-2013 at 10:21 AM.. Reason: Added logging
This User Gave Thanks to rbatte1 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FTP files

Hi, I am new to unix and I want to ftp files from unix to windows nt machine. My requirement is like i want to ftp files which are having system date (20050927) in between the filename. Once i get into ftp mode, I am not able to execute the unix command the get the system date and to change it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gopskrish
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

FTP of files

Hi all, I had written the following script to transfer the files thru FTP. But it throws me some error after I run the program. I guess its throwing error because of the path. Do help me. Thanks cd /home/psv find . -name '*.ksh' -print > /home/psv/ftpbatch/onefile cd... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mahalakshmi
2 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Not able to FTP the files to a FTP server