Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to find a file with a specific pattern for current sysdate & upon find email the details? Post 302859383 by PreetArul on Thursday 3rd of October 2013 03:14:45 AM
Old 10-03-2013
How to find a file with a specific pattern for current sysdate & upon find email the details?

I need assistance with following requirement, I am new to Unix.
I want to do the following task but stuck with file creation date(sysdate)
Following is the requirement

I need to create a script that will read the abc/xyz/klm folder and look for *.err files for that day’s date and then send an email.

Thanks in advance.
Preet

Last edited by Scott; 10-03-2013 at 04:28 AM.. Reason: Removed overkill formatting

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to find entries, NOT starting with specific pattern

Hey,I have a file in following format >1 ABC........ >2 XYZ..... >3 ABC........ >4 MNO....... >5 ABC....... now I would like to find only those entries that doesn't start with ABC (specific pattern)e.g preferred output: >2 XYZ.... >4 MNO....... it will be nice if anybody how... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ankitachaurasia
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

find the file names having specified pattern at specified position in the current directory

I would need a command for finding first 15000 of the file names whose 25th postion is 5 in the current directory alone. I do have this painful command find . -name '5*' | head -15000 | cut -c3- please refine this. Of course the above command also searches in the sub directories... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vk39221
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use grep & find command to find references to a particular file