Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare value of a column in a file Post 302851427 by Vivekit82 on Monday 9th of September 2013 12:08:10 AM
Old 09-09-2013
hi..Thanks for the reply.
but input value can be anything..There are more than 1000 records in the file in a similar pattern.There should be some loop etc.
I dont want to hardcode the input values.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

I need to extract last column of a file and compare the values

Hi, I am new to unix and I need help in solving below mentioned issue, really appreciate ur help. I have a file sam, john, 2324, 07142007 tom, thomson, 2343, 07142007 john, scott, 2478, 07142007 its a comma delimited file, I need to extract the last column from each line and this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vukkusila
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare between column in one file

Hi all, can anyone help me. I want to compare values within column in one file using awk. Below are the sample input file(1st file):... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: lurak
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk compare column n replace with in one file

hi Friends need to compare columns in one file where the data looks like below laptop,IBM phone,samsung car,rental user1,laptop user2,laptop user3,phone want to get output as laptop,IBM phone,samsung car,rental user1,IBM user2,IBM user3,samsung need to seach $2 in array of $1 and... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: arun1401
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compare two column in file and extract complate line

No Chr Pos Qual GT_1 GT_2 1. chr1 478493 595 A/G G/G 2. chr1 879243 700 A/T T/T 3. chr2 889922 1300 C/C C/C 4. chr2 1926372 300 T/A T/A 5. chr3 237474 500 G/C C/C 6. chr3 575757 700 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mscott
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare the second column of a file with the second column of another in awk