Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting To search distinct special char in file Post 302849923 by RudiC on Tuesday 3rd of September 2013 03:36:52 PM
Old 09-03-2013
Try this for non alnum chars in field 4:
Code:
sed -r 's/([^|]*\|){3}//;s/[[:alnum:]]*$//' file
$
#
$
=
=
#

EDIT: Or, if any position in field 4 is possible:
Code:
sed -r 's/([^|]*\|){3}//;s/^[[:alnum:]]*//;s/[[:alnum:]]*$//' file
$
#
$
=
=
#

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

search special characters in a file

Hello I am new to shell scripting and can anyone tell me how to check if there are any special characters in a file. Can i use grep ? thanks susie (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cramya80
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Using egrep to search for Text and special char

Anyone is well-versed to use egrep to search a file for a line containing both: 1) AAA 2) $ I am having problem escaping the dollar sign when using egrep in conjunction with satisfying AAA as well. E.g. Text file Line 1 AAA Line 2 $$$ Line 3 AAA BBB $ Line 4 $$$ BBB AA will return me... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: izy100
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Special Char in Multiple Files

We develop a file in windows and move to unix box as a part of deployment. When we do this, we get ctrl-M(^M) character added to the file. So we need to remove ctrl-M(^M) character from all the files from deployment folder and all subfolders folder. Currently we move to individual folders and... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: thinakarmani
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to copy/move to a file with a special character as the 1st char in the filename?