Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to check for null values in a column Post 302849831 by Vivekit82 on Tuesday 3rd of September 2013 12:14:45 PM
Old 09-03-2013
Script to check for null values in a column

Hi Guys,

I am new to shell script.I need your help to write a shell script.
I have a csv file which has 13 columns separated by ,
I have written below script to fetch required 5 columns.
Code:
 awk -F, '(NR==1){h3=$3;h4=$4;h8=$8;h9=$9;h13=$13;next}(NF>1) \
{print h3":"$3"\n"h4":"$4"\n"h8":"$8"\n"h9":"$9"\n"h13":"$13}' $IFILE > $OFILE

Now i want to include condition in above script to check if column 13 is null/empty and if yes print ouptput "error in file".

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check Null values in a file column by column if columns are Not NULLs

Hi All, I have a table with 10 columns. Some columns(2nd,4th,5th,7th,8th and 10th) are Not Null columns. I'll get a tab-delimited file and want to check col by col and generate seperate error code for each col eg:102 if 2nd col value is NULL and 104 if 4th col value is NULL so on... I am a... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mandab
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Check for null values in a column

Hi All, I have a file with 10 columns and get the required data for nine columns properly except 8th. In 8th column i have both NULL and NON NULL values...i.e certain records have values for all the columns including 8th column and certain records have 8th column as NULL.My requisite is,without... (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: ganesh_248
20 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

print unique values of a column and sum up the corresponding values in next column