Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replace a string with each line from another file repeatedly Post 302847375 by perseous on Tuesday 27th of August 2013 12:25:04 AM
Old 08-27-2013
worked finally! thank you!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how can search a String in one text file and replace the whole line in another file

i am very new to UNIX plz help me in this scenario i have two text files as below file1.txt name=Rajakumar. Discipline=Electronics and communication. Designation=software Engineer. file2.txt name=Kannan. Discipline=Mechanical. Designation=CADD Design Engineer. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkraja
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace string in a file within a range of line

Hi, I want to replace the srting '; with ABCD'; in a file from line 1 to line 65. Is there any single command to do it without using awk Thanks for quick reply https://www.unix.com/images/misc/progress.gif (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tosattam
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace string in file.1 with line from file.2

Hello all, the title makes this sound simple, and maybe it should be. This is by code: #!/bin/sh cp ch25.txt ch25.fn.tex n=`grep -c '^\' ch25_footnotes.txt > temp` r=`awk -F] '{print $2}' temp` `sed 's/\/\\footnote{$r}/' ch25.fn.tex` done This is what I am trying to... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ccox85
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

To trim Certain field in a line of a file and replace the new string in that position

To trim 3rd field in for all the lines of a file and replace the modified string in that particular field. For example i have a file called Temp.txt having content Temp.txt ----------------- 100,234,M1234 400,234,K1734 300,345,T3456 ---------------- So the modified file output should... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rpadhi
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting