Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Scripting Question - getting lines above ane below certain enteries Post 302845051 by Jotne on Tuesday 20th of August 2013 04:10:08 PM
Old 08-20-2013
awk
Code:
awk '/START-OF-DATA/{f=1;next} /END-OF-DATA/{f=0} f' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

another scripting question

I am writing a script that will identify the oldest file in a directory. Here's the syntax: #!/bin/ksh cd directory chmod 777 * ls -r -1t > file1 sed -n -e "1P" < file1 > file2 So my problem is, now I have file2, which contains the name of the oldest file in the directory. How do I use,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kristy
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting question

I'm new to shell scripting and am having a problem trying to do something in C shell. I want to write a script that will input something instead of a user doing it. For example, using the command 'write' the user is supposed to type something to be sent to another user. I want a script to be able... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: batmike
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

No. of lines in a file (For scripting)

I'm trying to get the number of lines in a file. I know their are a number of ways of doing this like wc -l or nl which lists the file with the line number. The problem is that I want to use the number of lines a certain program has as a variable in my script. So i can't use wc -l as it returns the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Quesa
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Scripting question

Folks; I'm writing a shell script to extract some fields out of a log file & it will run periodically, how can i make it runs starting from where it left of. for example; if the script will do the extract every 2 days, let's say the first run will extract fields until July 25, 2007 @ 11:15:22... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: moe2266
1 Replies