Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Creating LPARS in AIX
Operating Systems AIX Creating LPARS in AIX Post 302844346 by bakunin on Sunday 18th of August 2013 11:18:41 PM
Old 08-19-2013
You need a virtualisation license.

Depending on which virtualisation technique you want to use (IVM or HMC) and how you organized disks and network (adapters) you may or may not need 1 or 2 VIOS LPARs.

Depending on which virtualisation technique you want to use (IVM or HMC) you may need a HMC if you do not have one.

Tell us more about your (prospective) environment and we can tell you more about your requirements.

I hope this helps.

bakunin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

creating user accounts in AIX

Hello all: I am new to UNIX and I am given the responsibility of administering a UNIX machine recently. The system is a IBM AIX 3.1. As a part of my duties I recently created some user accounts using "smit". It looked as if everything went well. But, after creating the account, I logged into... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pdepa
3 Replies

2. AIX

Creating RAID 5 for AIX 5.2

Hi guys!! I terribly need help in setting up RAID 5 for a P615 IBM server. IBM said that I needed a diagnostic cd but it will take them 6 weeks to send it to me. I need help PLEASE Server configuration: P615 IBM Server 3 pcs 36.4GB HDD Dual Channel SCSI RAID Enab. Card Thank you, Jose (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: josramon
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

AIX:creating user with username more than 8 chars

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: anuafs84
0 Replies

4. AIX

script for creating aix user