Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Finding Data in the file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Finding Data in the file Post 302843883 by Jotne on Thursday 15th of August 2013 01:19:41 PM
Old 08-15-2013
!($NF~today)
can be change to
$NF!~today
For me, its more easy to test if a field is not something,
compare to test if its equal to something then invert it.
Just a personal opinion Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding duplicate data in a file

A pogram named LOGGEDON returns an output of: Ref_num IP Address Logged on User 12000 10.10.12.12 12-02-2002 11:00 john 12004 10.10.12.13 12-03-2002 14:00 mary 12012 10.10.12.14 12-03-2002 11:30 bob 12024 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dinplant
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding data in a file

Hello, I am new to shell programming, and Unix development overall. I have a following text file with the following contents: .. Sunny Monday: x Tuesday: x Wednesday: x Thursday: x Friday: x Cloudy Monday: x Tuesday: x Wednesday: x ... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: Selma
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding null records in data file

I am having a "|" delimited flat file and I have to pick up all the records with the 2nd field having null value. Please suggest. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsravan
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding Overlap between two sets of data

Hi everyone, I posted this earlier, but the idea changed since then and I figured it would make more sense if I repost with a clearer idea in hopes someone can help me out. I have two lists of data in file1 and file 2 file1 (tab separated - column1 column2 column 3) 1 91625106 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: labrazil
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding Minimum value per Row range of data