Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract string between two delimiter Post 302843424 by Jotne on Tuesday 13th of August 2013 06:30:54 AM
Old 08-13-2013
Your are fixing the symptoms. Fix the program that gives wrong output.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating a delimiter string

hi i have a function printValues() { var=$# count=0 qName="" while do if then echo QManager Name $1 fi if then echo Cluster Name$2 fi if (( $count != 0 && $count != 1 )) then ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: satish@123
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

extract fields from text file using delimiter!!

Hi All, I am new to unix scripting, please help me in solving this assignment.. I have a scenario, as follows: 1. i have a text file(read1.txt) with the following data sairam,123 kamal,122 etc.. 2. I have to write a unix... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: G.K.K
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delimiter count in a string.

Hi , I need to get the delimiter "-" count in a particular string. string= SYS_NAME-123-S5-2008-10-20.LOG the delimit "-" count is 5 . Using sed or awk can I know the count ? I have seen how to get the count for delimiter in a file but not a string :( Thanks, Priya (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: priyam
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

extract string from varying delimiter line

Hi I have lines like this a=1, b=2, c=3, a=1, d=4, e=5, b=225, I need to extract the b=nnn... value. I dont know how many other entries will be before and after it in each line. Ive tried a basic line like awk '/b=/, $NF ~ /,/ ' myfile.txt but I think that it doesnt care which comma it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rebelbuttmunch
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract 2 or more int from the text with delimiter.