Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to store the file name in a single line?? Post 302842849 by Yoda on Saturday 10th of August 2013 04:55:43 PM
Old 08-10-2013
Code:
FILES=$( ls -ltr | awk '/^-/{$0=$NF;ORS=FS;print}' )

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Read and store each line of a file to a variable

Hi all, I'm quite new to unix and hope that someone can help me on this. I'm using csh. Below is what i intend to do. 1. I stored some data in a file. 2. I intend to read the file line by line and store each line of data into a variable, so that i can used it later. Anyone have any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: seijihiko
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

store the first line of a file in a variable

i have to store the files in a folder and assign a variable to the the files. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: dineshr85
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to read a file line by line and store it in a variable to execute a program ?

Hello, I am quite new in shell scripting and I would like to write a little scritp to run a program on some parameters files. all my parameters files are in the same directory, so pick them up with ls *.para >>dirafter that I have a dir file like that: param1.para param2.para etc... I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shadok
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk concatenate every line of a file in a single line

I have several hundreds of tiny files which need to be concatenated into one single line and all those in a single file. Some files have several blank lines. Tried to use this script but failed on it. awk 'END { print r } r && !/^/ { print FILENAME, r; r = "" }{ r = r ? r $0 : $0 }' *.txt... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: sdf
8 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parse a single line file and store value.